Matt Pearson Wins the 2017 Honor Award for Distinguished Excellence in Design from AIA Hampton Roads

Matt Pearson, AIA at Clark Nexsen

Matt Pearson received the 2017 Honor Award for Distinguished Excellence in Design from the American Institute of Architects Hampton Roads Chapter. At a design awards ceremony held October 19, AIA Hampton Roads presented the award to Matt recognizing his individual achievement in design excellence, exhibiting outstanding levels of professional influence and design abilities over a sustained period.

Dennis Stallings, FAIA, at Clark Nexsen and Robert Ries, AIA, at Hanbury nominated Matt for the award, commenting, “Matt brings the dedication and commitment necessary to achieve a high-level of design excellence. He has an unparalleled passion for design – exhibited in his work, thought leadership, advocacy and mentoring, and recognition by his peers and the AIA.”

  • Matt holds a Bachelor of Architecture from Virginia Tech and attended the Academy di Archeteturra, Mendriso/Riva San Vitale in Switzerland.
  • He has received numerous design awards, including 17 AIA design awards for projects in his portfolio on the local, state, and national level.
  • Matt is affiliated with both the AIA and RIBA (the Royal Institute of British Architects)
  • Matt joined Clark Nexsen as a senior design architect in 2016. Previously, he was a design principal at Hanbury in Norfolk and started his career in Washington, DC with HOK.

Over the course of the past 18 years Matt has broadened his reach beyond design role to influence organizational structure and operations to prioritize design excellence. He has energized initiatives to cultivate and elevate emerging leadership, and facilitate a more vivid internal design discourse.

Two projects Matt was part of the design team while at Hanbury received 2017 Honor Awards from AIA Hampton Roads: the University of Chicago’s North Residential Commons, which was designed in association with Studio Gang and the East Quad Residence Hall and Dining Commons at University of Michigan in Ann Arbor.