Dennis Stallings Awarded Kamphoefner Prize by AIA North Carolina

Dennis Stallings, FAIA, received the Kamphoefner Prize from the North Carolina Chapter of the American Institute of Architects at their annual awards ceremony held this fall. The Prize is given in recognition of commitment to the fundamental principles of the modern movement in architecture. Established by and named for Henry and Mabel Kamphoefner, it is the highest level of recognition of design excellence given by the AIA North Carolina Chapter. Henry Kamphoefner was the founding Dean at the School of Design at North Carolina State University.

As a principal and design director at Clark Nexsen, Dennis has more than 28 years of experience working with clients to develop design solutions for higher education, institutional, corporate, cultural, and master planning projects. He employs a collaborative, engaging design process and elevates the standard of design within Clark Nexsen and throughout the profession.

Dennis has been a Professor of Practice at the NC State College of Design since 1993, where he has shared his ideas and methodology to inspire young architectural students. For the past twelve years, he has co-taught the 5th year Bachelor of Architecture professional studio.

“Dennis is in many ways what Henry [Kamphoefner] was,” commented Frank Harmon, FAIA. ”He was both an architect and an educator. Whereas Dennis has built more buildings than Henry has, he is equally profound as an educator in his impact on the present and the next generation.”

“What struck me the most in first meeting Dennis and being in his studio was the passion that he had for design and for teaching,” said Shann Rushing, AIA, Principal, Clark Nexsen. “That really came across personally to me as a young designer.”

Recognized as a design advocate in the architectural community, Dennis has served on numerous design award juries such as the Boston Society of Architects, AIA Philadelphia, AIA Georgia, and AIA Maryland. In 2011, he presented the Design Awards for AIA Indiana and AIA Kentucky. In 2012, he served as Design Awards Committee Chair for the AIA South Atlantic Region and as Design Awards Committee Chair for AIA North Carolina.

He received a Master of Architecture and a Bachelor of Environmental Design in Architecture from North Carolina State University. In recognition of his accomplishments in design and his contribution to the advancement of the architecture profession, Dennis was elected to the AIA College of Fellows in 2014.

Watch AIA North Carolina's award presentation video: